Cable with router

Connection:

Cable provider but not in HK. Compared to a HK friend’s cable connection, it however looks the same so I post it here anyway.

Default hardware:

Cable modem with one port.

Problems:

No network problems.

Disadvantages:

Cable modem only provides 1 port and no wireless.

Advantages:

For connection standards at the place of use, it is at good speed (don’t dare to compare to HK though). Just ignore this section for HK.

My setup:

Since I brought a router (Linksys WRT54G) from HK to there anyway (saved a lot of cash and I didn’t know yet at that time if I would get a cable or phone line based broadband connection), I hooked it up to the modem and use it as a hub with wireless access point.

Router basic setup:
– Internet connection type: Automatic configuration – DHCP *
– MTU: auto
That’s it, nothing else for the connection.

* Do not mix up this DHCP with the DHCP server function also found in the router’s config pages. DHCP for Internet connection type means that the router basically "takes what it gets from the modem" (to keep it simple). No login required.

Again, I use fixed IP addresses in my LAN; refer to those settings to my previous "Netvigator with router" post.

{One of my posts at "Xbox Live香港(Hong Kong)討論區" dated "07-07-2006, 4:29AM"}

Leave a Reply

